top of page
Search
  • joepav9

Trick or Treat Smell My...Candy!

With Halloween right around the corner the memories of trick-or-treating past have been flooding back like a sack of overflowing candy. I can recall those nights like they were yesterday. During the 80's and early 90's trick-or-treat hours usually started right around dusk and ended when it was pitch black out and only the moon light to guide you home. Dressed in my Ben Cooper G.I. Joe costume, I dodged all the ghosts and ghouls, retrieved my treats, and arrived safely at home, sweaty and tired...it was candy time!


Dumping my bag on the living room floor, I methodically separated all my candy into piles. Chocolates over there. Hard candy over there. Yucky candy in the trash. And pennies off to the side. Looking over my various piles I was ready to dig in. First my dad would check for any tampering then warn me not to eat too much. But to me and my sister that was just a fleeting memory as we licked our lips while grabbing for our favorite. Mine was always Reese Cups and then Kit Kat bars. After that I went for the Snickers, Milky Way, and 3 Musketeer mini bars. Next to disappear were the Fun Dip sugar and stick, Nerds, and Smarties. Cue the stomach ache.


Usually my candy only lasted a few days since there wasn't much to begin with. We didn't use pillow cases or anything too large. Most of the time it was a plastic bag we got from school along with reflective bands. Sometimes it was the McDonalds Halloween buckets. Pillow cases didn't come into play until I was about 10 or 11.


My last year of trick-or-treating was around age 14 or 15. My friends and I dress in regular clothes and told people we were dressed as Europeans. We just wanted some free candy and mostly hit the rich areas handing out full bars.


Now I enjoy dressing up and passing out candy and comic books to children in my neighborhood. I usually give them a choice between candy or a comic book. Believe it or not, nine time out of ten, they choose the comic. If I know the kid I'll give them both. For my two nieces I'll put together a nice treat bag or bucket with candy and small toys.


So this year, if you get candy, remember not to eat so much....Oh who am I kidding?...Eat until your belly hurts and enjoy the night!





7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page