top of page
Search

GULLIBLE'S BABBLES - 105: My Favorite Monsters

Updated: Oct 5, 2020

IN THE SPIRIT OF HALLOWEEN:


You know of Joe Pavlansky. He’s one of the administrators here at House of the Unusual and one heck of a nice guy. Joe has a forum post here on “monster-kids.” He writes about what the requirements are to carry the monster-kid moniker and what makes a person define themselves as an official “monster-kid.”


Joe’s post got me thinking about the monsters from my youth and the parts they played in my developing sensibilities.


He graciously left his definition of a monster-kid open-ended to be welcoming and all encompassing to anyone who relates to the term. No doubt, anyway you look at it, I definitely fall into the prime age bracket — the 60s and 70s were ideal decades to be an original monster-kid.


Magazines such as “Famous Monsters” and “Monster World” were staple reading material amongst myself and my friends. Monster posters typically shared some amount of wall space in our bedrooms. Television offered up a regular supply of late night black and white monster movies to help fuel the fire. Primetime TV also brought us “The Munsters” and “The Addams Family” on a weekly basis while toy manufacturers attempted to keep up with youthful demands for the monster-craze and fatten their own wallets in the process.


Joe got me thinking about the monsters I was drawn to in my youth. Funny, the answer was so obvious but it wasn’t a connection I had ever made before ...


FAVORITE MONSTERS #1 & 2:


It should come as no surprise that my two favorite monsters were of the non-human variety; the “Creature from the Black Lagoon” and “King Kong.” DOH! And what might you get if you cross the two? A Sea-Monkey® of course. (A really big, really grumpy, really scary one ... but a genetic mutation of a Sea-Monkey® none the less.) Again, DOH! How had I lived six decades and never made this obvious connection before?





FAVORITE MONSTERS #3:


It then came as no surprise to me that my third favorite monster pick would be the “Invisible Man.” This also has a direct correlation to my current collecting interests — the 1966 “Invisible Goldfish” kit was created by the same man that brought us Sea-Monkeys®. (More on this later.)



Anyways ... check out Joe’s “House of the Unusual” forum post on “monster-kids.” Try the title on for size and see how it fits. I’d love to hear what other “House of the Unusual” members’ favorite monsters are, why you relate to them or if they have manifested themselves in the person you’ve become or your adult interests.


Also check out Joe’s spooky little corner of this “Unusual” site by clicking on the “Crypt Of Classics” link.


Signing off ...


Gullibly yours — “Gullible


©2020 Gullible’s Babbles - TRM for houseoftheunusual.com







23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

GULLIBLE’S BABBLES - 113: Mail-order and Dime-store Pets

IMAGE TO COME: The line between pets, toys and novelties was often blurred when I was growing up in the 1960s and 70s. You could literally order living pets by mail through comic books ads and Johnson

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page